Director Spotlight

On location with Neuroscience Program Director Daniel Tranel, PhD

"Join the Neuroscience Graduate Program at the University of Iowa and become part of the bright team of scientists trying to solve the mystery of the human brain."

Iowa Neuroscience Institute

Provides collaborative support for the neuroscience community.

Outstanding Alumni 

Brittany Williams

Brittany Williams

Class of 2019
Eric Emmons

Eric Emmons

Class of 2018
Victoria Muller Ewald


DISSERTATION PRIZE WINNERS AWARDED BY THE GRADUATE COLLEGE. Joseph Parvizi, Michael Koenigs, and Benton Purnell (right) EARNED THE D.C. SPRIESTERSBACH DISSERTATION PRIZE. Matthew Sutterer, Arianna Rigon, Serena Gumusoglu, and Victoria Muller Ewald (left) WON THE REX MONTGOMERY DISSERTATION PRIZE.

Benton Purnell
Serena Gumusoglu
"The fact that I was able to perform at this level and do this work is representative of this program. The strength of the Neuroscience Program at the University of Iowa is what makes it such a destination program for people.”
Serena Gumusoglu 2020 winner, Rex Montgomery Dissertation Prize