Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Michael Welsh receives 2017 Steven C. Beering Award
By: Office of Strategic Communication  |  2016.12.21  |  11:02 am
Michael Welsh, University of Iowa professor of internal medicine, molecular physiology, and biophysics and neurosurgery, has been named the recipient of the 2017 Steven C. Beering Award.
The Indiana University School of Medicine Steven C. Beering Award honors an internationally recognized individual for outstanding research contributions to the advancement of biomedical or clinical science. The award has been presented annually since 1983 and consists of a medal and a $25,000 prize. Seven of the past Beering Award recipients have become Nobel laureates, either before or after receipt of this award. 
Welsh also serves as director of the UI’s Pappajohn Biomedical Institute. His primary research areas are cystic fibrosis pathogenesis and therapies, and the influence of brain pH on memory.
Tricia Brown, Office of Strategic Communication, 319-384-0009